- NDIS Explained

What is NDIS?

The National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) is a significant welfare reform in Australia designed to provide better care and support for people with disability. The scheme is administered by the National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIA) and started rolling out across Australia in 2013.

The primary aim of the NDIS is to provide long-term, individualised support for people with permanent and significant disability. It seeks to enable these individuals to pursue their life goals and participate in social and economic life, emphasising early intervention to reduce future support needs.

NDIS is about choice and control. Rather than providing a one-size-fits-all program with set services, NDIS offers personalised support based on the individual’s goals and aspirations, whether related to health, education, employment, social participation, or independence.

- NDIS Funding

Types of Support

NDIS funding is allocated based on the unique needs of each individual. Three types of support budgets may be included in your NDIS plan:

  1. Core Supports: This budget is the most flexible and is designed to assist with everyday activities, household tasks and additional needs. This includes support like assistance with daily living, consumables (like continence products), transport, and assistance with social and community participation.
  2. Capacity Building Supports: This budget aims to build the skills and capabilities of the participant to help them become more independent and participate in the community. These supports include improved living arrangements, increased social and community participation, finding and keeping a job, improved health and wellbeing, learning, life choices, and daily living.
  3. Capital Supports: This budget is used for higher-cost items such as assistive technology, equipment, home or vehicle modifications, and the costs associated with Specialist Disability Accommodation.

- NDIS Eligibility

Check my Eligibility

To be eligible for the NDIS, you need to meet certain requirements:

  1. Age: You must be under 65 years of age when making the application.
  2. Residency: You must live in Australia, be an Australian citizen or hold a Permanent Visa or Protected Special Category Visa.
  3. Disability Requirement: You must have a permanent and significant disability that affects your ability to participate in everyday activities. This means your disability is likely to be lifelong and impacts your ability to do everyday things without support.